International APSA Travel Scholarship Award

The purpose of the International APSA Travel Scholarship Award is to introduce outstanding early-career international pig scientists and their cutting-edge research to the Australasian pork industry. The Award will provide travel support to promising early-career scientists for presentation of their work at the Australasian Pig Science Association (APSA) conference.

 The aims of the Award are to:

  1. Support early career researchers to attend conferences,
  2. Enhance the researcher's professional development, and
  3. Assist the researcher to develop a network with Australasian delegates in the area of pig science.

2017 IATS Award winners were Fangzhou (Arkin) Wu, Carine Vier and Lori Thomas.

Batterham Memorial Award

The Batterham Memorial Award is a prestigious award conferred by APSA in memory of the late Dr Ted Batterham. The Award is made to a young scientist within 10 years of graduation and is conferred with the aim of "stimulating and developing innovation in the pig industry". It is anticipated that the cash award will enable the recipient to broaden his or her exposure to national or international pig science. The Award is sponsored by Feedworks.

2017 Batterham Memorial Award winner was Dr Kate Plush, SunPork Solutions.

APSA Medal

The APSA Medal encourages the development of our student membership base by recognising the best presentation from a student at their first APSA conference. The award recognises excellence in science and the students ability to convey the scientific outcomes to the audience. The award is sponsored by SunPork Solutions.

2017 APSA Medal winner was Evan Bittner, University of Melbourne.

Poster Award

The coveted Poster Award is presented in recognition of the poster that was best able to catch the eye of the reader, make a statement, provide evidence to support the scientific statements and stimulate overall discussion with the audience. The Poster Award is open to any person who presents a poster at APSA, with the winner presented with a trophy and a prestigious bottle of wine.

2017 Poster Award winner was Robert Hewitt, SunPork Solutions.

APSA Fellow

The APSA Fellow is a prestigious award offered in recognition of past and present members who have made an outstanding contribution to APSA, research in pig science and the wider Australian pig industry. The APSA Fellow award was first presented in 2007.

Selection Criteria

The contributions of the APSA Fellow to APSA may be as:

·        APSA Committee (President, Vice-President, Secretary, Treasurer, ordinary committee member)

·        Technical content contribution (editor, referee, scientific authors etc)

·        Membership development (students, national and overseas)

·        Contribution and commitment to pig science (research, involvement in post-graduate training).

2017 APSA Fellow award recipient was Professor Robert van Barneveld, SunPork Group of Companies.