Australasian Pig Science Association

The purpose of the Australasian Pig Science Association (Inc.) is to provide a forum for excellence in science related to all aspects of the pig industry. APSA was established in 1987 to bring together people from a range of disciplines with a primary interest in pig science.

The aim was to provide a forum for scientific discussion that would ultimately provide an impetus for further research and ultimately improve overall pig productivity. Since that time APSA has met every two years, and the conference has developed to a point where it has a world-wide reputation for science excellence and as a forum for the exchange of ideas relating to the pig industry. The conference proceedings have gained an international reputation for the quality of the symposia, reviews and short papers with all papers undergoing extensive peer review prior to acceptance.

The conference incorporates a blend of basic and applied research covering every aspect of pig science. The meeting is attended by a mix of scientists, consultants, industry support personnel and producers. APSA promotes interaction between people from different disciplines and from different countries and recognises that much of the value of a conference is the opportunity to meet new people in the industry or to renew old acquaintances. The conference is therefore held in a relaxed atmosphere with ample opportunity to socialise with other attendees.

Download APSA’s 2022 Constitution.

2025 Committee:

  • President – Dr Kate Plush, SunPork Solutions
  • Vice President – Dr Jessica Craig, Rivalea Australia
  • Secretary – Ms Emalyn Loudon, private consultant
  • Treasurer – Prof Frank Dunshea, The University of Melbourne
  • Ordinary Committee Member – Dr Rob Smits, TRI Advice
  • Ordinary Committee Member – Dr Lauren Hemsworth, The University of Melbourne
  • Ordinary Committee Member – Prof Eugeni Roura, The University of Queensland
  • Ordinary Committee Member – Dr Tanya Nowland, South Australian Research and Development Institute
  • Immediate Past President – Dr Rebecca Athorn, Australian Pork Limited

The APSA Committee is entitled to the following allowances.